Top Ten Windows Down Speakers Blaring Summer Songs

by sassinbows

I realize that it’s been a while since I last posted. I’ve been busy, ok? Too many naps and reruns of The Mindy Project. My bad! I have also revamped my blog a little bit. I have decided to stay with Top Ten lists because they are concise and easy to read. I’m taking suggestions for new posts so shoot me a text or comment on here if you have any ideas.

I’ve kept you waiting long enough. Here is my Top Ten List of Windows Down Speakers Blaring Summer Songs. Judge me.

10. Keep Your Head Up- Andy Grammer

If you know anything about me at all, you know that I love happy songs. What a happy song this is! Songs influence my moods a lot more than they should. Usually, I don’t like it when people tell me what to do, but when this song tells me to “keep my head up and let my hair down” I actually obey. *hair flip*

9. Yeah- Usher

I LOVE old school rap. If it was acceptable to listen to it at all times without people thinking I was a super freak I would do it. This song flashes me right back to sixth grade. I distinctly remember laying out in a swimsuit on our back deck listening to this song playing. Back then I had a boombox and the curves of a ten-year old boy. (I still have both of these, actually.)

8. Runnin’ Outta Moonlight- Randy Houser

Leigha Pierce and I have declared this our country summer song of 2013. It talks about backroading and playing outside at night. These are two of my most favorite activities, especially in the summer. Plus, I recently learned that to make a good song you just have to put a lot of OOOOOOHHHHs in it and this song has a lot, therefore, it’s an instant classic.

7. Chariot- Gavin Degraw

This song starts out pretty slow but when the chorus hits, it’s glorious. I want to sing right now just thinking about it. Plus, Gavin Degraw’s vocals are insane. He is my musical Ryan Gosling.

6. Here’s to Never Growing Up- Avril Lavigne

Alright, I can see your judgy eyes. Stop giving me that look! I get it. This is definitely a guilty pleasure that I’m being honest enough to share with you, so be nice! This song brings me back to the angsty anthems of middle school. I don’t care if you don’t like Avril. This song is catchy and you know it.

5. Cruise- Florida Georgia Line

Florida Georgia Line’s band members are masters at turning songs with stupid lyrics into major hits. They make you want to tap your feet on the dashboard and put your hands out the sunroof. This song just makes you want to roll your windows down and cruise down a backroad. If there was ever a song that induces hypnosis, this is it.

4. Come and Get It- Selena Gomez

It starts out with a funky tune and then the beat drops and your mind explodes. Nice job, Selena. This song is sexy, but in just the right amount for me to belt it at the top of my lungs and only be mildly embarrassed about it.

3. Ice Ice Baby- Vanilla Ice

I know every word of this song. I once rapped it on stage in front of 450 people. So ya, every time this song comes on I can feel the spotlight on me and the show is on. Who doesn’t want to feel like Vanilla Ice?

2. This Love- Maroon 5

I first heard this song in the seventh grade. I used to sing it on conference calls with friends on my landline home phone. (I also had braces and a middle part so maybe I wasn’t making the best choices.) This song has gotten me through many life changes. I will forever be thankful for Maroon 5 and their poppy-est song of them all.

1. Mirrors- Justin Timberlake

If I could only listen to one song for the rest of my life, I would choose Mirrors. The part where the music cuts out gives me chills every time.  I have experienced many great moments while listening to this song and I will forever blare it in my car with the windows rolled down.

